The Best Master's Thesis Award

This event is an opportunity to highlight and officially recognize the best Master theses written by SBS-EM students, as well as their academic achievements. The selected students have the opportunity to present their work to all members of the faculty during a special event. The prizes are then awarded.

Title of the award / origin of funds

Award amount

Subject of the award

Award Eugène de Barsy 1250 € Best thesis in management
Award Etienne Sadi Kirschen 1250 € Best thesis in economy
Award Fondation Marie Christine Adam 1250 € Excellent performance in finance / international
Award André Farber 1250 € Best thesis in finance
Award Leblanc de Leener of the vice-dean 1500 € Exemplary academic course and thesis on Sustainable Development
AwardLeblanc de Leener of the dean 1500 € Exemplary academic career and exemplary memory

Winners of the Best Master's Thesis Awards - 2022 Edition

This edition had 29 candidates for 6 winners
Award Eugène de Barsy

  • Coralie VAN DEN BRINK – M-INGEF - "Festival et l'environnement, comment être durable tout en étant financièrement viable ?"
Supervisor : Jean-Philippe Michaux
Award Etienne Sadi Kirschen

  • Gauthier FONTANIVE – M-ECONP - "How do natural resources affect violence against aid workers ? The case of artisanal and industrial gold in sub-Saharan Africa."
Supervisor : Pierre-Guillaume Méon​​​​​​​
Award Fondation Marie Christine Adam

  • Loïc DE MOOR - M-INGE - Excellente performance en cours de Finance
Award André Farber

  • Clotilde BULION - "Detection of Momentum Ignition"
Supervisor : ​​​​​​​Kim Oosterlinck
Award Leblanc de Leener sur proposition vice

  • Joana Maria TRAPELA MARQUES GARCIA – M-ECOER - "Turning down havens’ treasures? Multinational groups, profit shifting and services trade" -
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Supervisor Mathieu Parenti
Award Leblanc de Leener sur proposition

  • Basile DABIN – M-GEST - "Arts & culture patronage of French luxury conglomerates: history, drivers and impact on stakeholders"
Supervisor : ​​​​​​​Kenneth Bertrams

Marie-Christine Adam Fund

In honour of Marie-Christine Adam, its former President, the Solvay Business School (former name of the School) created the "Marie-Christine Adam Fund" in 2000 to continue the work she started.

The objective of the fund is to encourage students to take part in international exchange programmes at the Solvay Brussels School of Economics and Management, whose development was one of Marie-Christine Adam’s most significant contributions.

HERA Awards

The Foundation for Future Generations and its partners have created HERA (Higher Education & Research Awards for Future Generations), a group of Awards of Excellence whose goal is to promote academic research leading to innovative solutions for a more sustainable society.  

BVA Essaye Award: Master and PhD

The Belgian Venture Capital & Private Equity Association awards a prize to the best PhD in the field of Venture Capital (VC) and/or Private Equity (PE).


"Green your University" Award

The "Green your University" award recognises creative and innovative student projects that contribute to improving sustainable development on university campuses.

Contest "e-Start & Go"

e-Start & Go is a contest for business creation projects in the field of e-business/e-marketing.

Shape Your Future in Energy

Sia Partners organises Shape Your Future in Energy, an innovation challenge for master students introducing them to the world of consulting, energy, and digital solutions.

If you are a master student, this challenge is an excellent opportunity for you to discover the energy sector and think outside the box! Coaching by real-life consultants plays a central part in this competition and will allow you to improve your skills. Join the competition, grow your network, get consulting insights, and win one of many prizes totalling €1,750!

Wikifin Prize

The FSMA launched the prize Wikifin awarding 1000 EUR to a master dissertation in the field of financial education. 


Updated on November 24, 2022